Rimantas Černiauskas (1950–2011) was a writer, playwright, translator. Graduated in 1973 with a BA in Mathematics from Vilnius University. R. Černiauskas worked as a teacher until 1987. 1996–2004 taught an elective course in the Humanities Department of Klaipėda University and led Children’s Literature seminars.

In 1984 he was accepted into the Lithuanian Writers’ Union. Since 1987 he has chaired the Klaipėda section of the Writers’ Union.

He made his literary debut with the collection of short stories This Side of the Clouds. Later he published several more collections of short stories, children’s books, a collection of plays The Sincerity Club and a novella, Confession of a Hired Killer.

Since 1994 he has compiled the literary and cultural magazine Baltija (The Baltic Sea).

In 1996 he received the Ieva Simonaitytė Prize for his book Campfires in the Attic. His book, The Earthworm’s Tale published in 2007, was awarded as the best children’s book of the year. In 2010 he was awarded the title of the Master of Culture of Klaipėda in recognition of his merits to the town.

Selected bibliography

Šiapus debesų (This Side of the Clouds): [short stories], Vilnius: Vaga, 1980

Gusto istorijos (Gustas’ Adventures): [horror novella], Vilnius, 1983

Senelės išdaigos (Grandmother’s Folly): [short stories], Vilnius: Vaga, 1984

Į šviesą (Into the Light): [poems and epigrams], Vilnius, 1990

Tikrieji miestelio vyrai (The Town’s Real Men): [short stories], Vilnius: Vyturys, 1990

Nuoširdumo klubas (The Sincerity Club): [plays], Klaipėda: Eldija, 1992

Laužai palėpėse (Campfires in the Attic): [novellas], Vilnius: Lithuanian Writers’ Union Publishers, 1995

Jūra yra sūri (The Sea is Salty): [short stories], Vilnius: Vyturys, 1997

Gustas (Gustas): [horror novella], Kaunas: Nemunas, 1997

Kairiarankių šalis (The Land of the Left-Handed): [short stories], Klaipėda: Druka, 2000

Pasakėlės vaikams, vanagams ir sliekams (Stories for children, hawks, and slugs), Vilnius: Lithuanian Writers’ Union Publishers, 2003

Samdomo žudiko išpažintis (Confession of a Hired Killer): [novella], Vilnius: Gimtasis žodis, 2004

Koridorių vilkas (The Wolf of the Halls): [short stories], Vilnius: Lithuanian Writers’ Union Publishers, 2007

Slieko pasaka (The Earthworm’s Tale), Vilnius: Versus aureus, 2007

Vaikai ir vaiduokliai (Children and Ghosts): [tales], Vilnius: Versus aureus, 2009

Selected translations


Воинственный характер, Moscow: Mолодая гвардия, 1988

Истории про Густаса и учителя, Kaliningrad: Kладезь, 2006