Kęstutis Kasparavičius (b. 1954 in Aukštadvaris) is a writer and illustrator. As a child he studied Choir Conducting at the M. K. Čiurlionis School of Art from 1962 – 1972. In 1972–1981 Kasparavičius studied Graphic Design at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vilnius. Since 1984 he has worked as a children’s book illustrator and has illustrated over 45 books. His works have been published internationally and have been translated into 23 languages.

In 1993 he received the Illustrator of the Year Award at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair. In 2003 he was awarded the Bologna Illustrators’ Exhibition Award for Excellence. His illustrations have been selected for this book fair’s exhibition eleven times. Kasparavičius has also been awarded the Golden Pen of Belgrade in 1990; the II Diploma Premi International Catalonia d’Illustracio in Barcelona, 1994; a Diploma at the Tallin Illustrators’ Triennial in 2006; the Best Lithuanian Children’s Book Award in 2005 and in 2007. In 2008 and 2009 respectively, the little Lithuanian readers selected his books Florencius the Gardener and Rabbit Marcus the Great as the winners of a public action The Book of the Year (the children’s book category). Kasparavičius was twice (in 2008 and 2010) nominated for the Hans Christian Andersen Award (gold medal). In 2009 his contribution to children’s literature was recognized by the Children’s Literature Award by the Lithuanian Ministry of Education and Culture. The White Elephant received the International Janis Baltvilks Award (2010).

Kęstutis Kasparavičius - illustrator's profile

Selected bibliography

Kvailos istorijos (Silly Stories), Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2005.

Braškių diena (Strawberry Day): [mystery], Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2006.

Trumpos istorijos (Short Stories), Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2006.

Dingęs paveikslas (The Missing Painting): [fairy-tales], Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2007.

Sodininkas Florencijus (Florencius the Gardener): [fairy-tale], Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2007.

Kiškis Morkus Didysis (Rabbit Marcus the Great): [fairy-tale], K. Kasparavičius, Vilnius: Nieko Rimto, 2009.

Baltasis dramblys (The White Elephant), Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2010.

Meškelionė (The Bears’ Travel), Vilnius: Baltos lankos, 2010.

Mažoji žiema (The Little Winter), Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2010.

Sapnų Katytė, Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2011.

Selected translations


Белия Слон, Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2009.


Valge Elevant, Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2009.


Coses que passen cada dia, Barcelona: Thule Ediciones, 2006.

El quadre desaparegut, Barcelona: Thule Ediciones, 2008.

Coses que de tant en tant passen, Barcelona: Thule Ediciones, 2010.


Shu kan shu yu diao yu, Taipei: Grimm Press, 2003.

Nong xiang cheng zhen, Taipei: Grimm Press, 2005.

Fei yu chi fei ji, Taipei: Grimm Press, 2006; Part 2. Taipei: Grimm Press, 2007.


Budalaste priče, Zagreb: Ibis grafika, 2008.

Kratke Priče, Zagreb: Ibis grafika, 2010.

Bijeli Slon, Zagreb: Ibis grafika, 2011.


Das verschwundene Bild, Wien: IDMI Verlag, 2011.


La giornata delle fragole, Vilnius: Nieko Rimto, 2007.

Il quadro scomparso, Bologna: Comma 22 Editore, 2010.

Il giardiniere Florenzio, Bologna: Comma 22 Editore, 2010.


Short Stories, Seoul: Wisdomhouse, 2007.

Silly Stories, Seoul: Wisdomhouse, 2007.


Baltais Zilonis, Vilnius: Nieko rimto, 2009.

Zakis Lielais Burkans, Riga: Zvaigzne ABC, 2010.

Pazudusi Glezna, Riga: Zvaigzne ABC, 2010.


Florian Ogrodnik, Izabelin: Eurograf Librone, 2010.

Marchewiusz Wielki, Izabelin: Eurograf Librone, 2010.

Biały Słoń, Izabelin: Eurograf Librone, 2011.

Znikly Obraz, Izabelin: Eurograf Librone, 2011.


Zanaforius el Grande, Mexico: Fondo de Culture Economica, 2011.


Садовник Флоренций, Москва: Открытый Мир, 2009.

Глупые истории, Moscow: OM Publishers, 2010.


Cosas que pasan cada dia, Barcelona: Thule Ediciones, 2006.

El cuadro desaparecido, Barcelona: Thule Ediciones, 2008.

Cosas que a veces pasan, Barcelona: Thule Ediciones, 2010.

Zanaforius el Grande, Mexico: Fondo de Culture Economica, 2011.


Зникла картина, Тернопіль: Навчальна книга, 2009.

Білий Слон, Тернопіль: Навчальна книга, 2010.